I’m Sorry

“I’ve had it,” she told me. “And it’s only been 9 months.” This is a smart, capable, intelligent, compassionate new nurse, a former Michigan Nursing Students Association Board member, and a friend. I remember her excitement and nervousness about taking the NCLEX. I remember the excited Facebook posting when she passed and then when she was hired. And now she’s had it. After 9 months.

She wasn’t naive about the nursing profession. She was fully aware of short staffing and paperwork and all the things that drive nurses crazy. She went into her first job with her eyes wide open.

And yet, something has gotten to her. She didn’t specify and I didn’t ask but it probably wasn’t one thing. I imagine it was months of frustration. If there’s one thing I know about her, she was committed to being able to care for and educate her patients. I would guess that she’s been robbed of those opportunities, whether it’s through poor management or not enough co-workers or just too many patients.

I wish I could say that’s the first time I’ve ever had an MNSA Board member tell me that they’ve had it, but unfortunately it happens quite frequently. To me, MNSA Board members are the best of the best, the cream of the crop, and when I hear them wondering about their chosen profession within the first 12 months of their practice, I have to wonder what we’re missing.

I’m sorry, my friend, I really am. I wish I could make things better for you. I’m heartsick that the dream you held for your career has turned into a nightmare. All I can say is – get out of where you’re at before it eats you alive and look for a better practice situation.

You’re just too good for us to lose you.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m Sorry

  1. Marianne Himebauch RN

    I am sorry too! How unfortunate that this is the way we are welcomed into the sisterhood of our profession. I too was devastated emotionally by my first 6 months of nursing.I was overloaded, unprepared, and unsupported. I am sorry to say that I haven’t seen much change either. I can’t say I have found it to be a heck of a lot better over the past seven years I have been an RN. To those of you that complain about being short staffed etc. “Stop eating your young!” Support these folks that are willing to brave the unknown to become your brother or sister in this caring profession. The breaking point for me is always the lack of ability to do right by my patients. Maybe with a little help from those who are a little bit more knowledgeable, this nurse wouldn’t feel the need to walk away! And you would have the help you need too. I pray that things get better and pledge that I will continue to try to make it so. I am working on my MSN right now so that I might instruct new students! God Bless all nurses!

  2. Ruth

    I too feel that way. I passed NCLEX in September 2010 and got a job at a nursing home and the politics interfere with the care of the Residents. I have started to take measures to move from this job into another, I have to have more education to do it though so until then I feel stuck and very unhappy.

Leave a Reply

